Monday, August 22, 2011

Good evening world, it’s the beginning of a new week, it’s raining and my husband is coming home from the Philipines in two days, I am so excited, I can hardly wait.  My children and I have had two relaxing days at home but it’s going to get busy because school starts in three weeks – not looking forward to it – and I have to do school supply shopping but not school clothes shopping because both of my children go to private school.  Uniforms are the best.  I shop at Staples for school supplies because although, they are more expensive than say WalMart or Zellers, it’s one stop shopping which I love and they are never out of stock.  I saw the coolest lunch bag at Superstore, it’s a frog head with big eyes and a mouth which I’m going to buy for my daughter and I got my son’s lunch bag at Children’s Place.  I got the kid’s shoes at an outlet mall on the way to Seattle in Tulalip and it’s conveniently called Tulalip.  I bought my son’s shoes  and my daughter’s runners at the Sketchers outlet and my daughter’s dress shoes I got the Stride Rite outlet.

I realized this morning that I haven’t spoken to my dad in a while, which, unfortunately isn’t unusual because my relationship with my father hasn’t been close since he married my first stepmother.  My mom left the first time when I was ten and promised me she wouldn’t leave again, unfortunately she broke that promise when she left exactly two years later.  She left a note on the table for our dad and never came back.  I was so angry with her that I didn’t speak or see her for a year and the only reason that I spoke to her when I did was because I had planned a sleepover for my thirteenth birthday and my dad said that he had to go out so my mom would be coming to chaperone my party.  I found out later that he actually had a date with the woman that would become my first stepmother.  My party ended up being a hit and my mom and I were on our way to reconciliation.

Have a great evening everyone and I’ll talk to you tomorrow about the history of my relationship with my father.

Leave a Reply

