Tuesday, January 17, 2011

Let’s talk over tea about Christmas…I love Christmas and everything about it:  the lights; the decorations, I have three blow-ups – a snowman, a polar bear and a penguin – there are so cute; the tree; I decorate my mantel with snow globes and lit-up houses; the craziness of shopping; watching my children’s faces as they open their presents; the food which, this year with the help of my sister and husband I took over the carving knife…tee hee…I took over from my ninety-three-year-old grandmother, even the pumpkin pie; and we always go to the Christmas train at Stanley Park. What I truly love most about Christmas though, is that we celebrate the birth of my Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.  He is the reason why we celebrate this wonderful day, His birth made a way for us to be with my Heavenly Father for eternity, His birth heralded the dawning of a new day free from God’s wrath and anger which He let go of with His grace because He loves us so much and His birth gave me the privilege and honour to call myself a Christian.

This past Christmas, my cousin, her husband and two boys and my aunt and uncle were able to visit from Alberta, along with my husband and two children, my mom, grandmother, my other cousin and her husband and my sister and nephew all went out for dinner and then to the Stanley Park train.  It was raining and cold but as usual our Vancouver Firefighters didn’t disappoint with the theme or the decorations, it was bright, beautiful and cheerful.  The theme was the “Polar Express”, there was a hunt for golden tickets, there were signs of the movie everywhere including a man on stilts who did a fantastic job as the conductor who was played by Tom Hanks in the movie.  Being with family is what the season is all about and for me having my cousins here was amazing, I grew up spending summers, camps and Christmas with them but as we got older the visits became fewer and far between because of university, marriage and babies .  That’s why it’s so important to stay close to your family, stay in contact and visit when you can.

As a part of my lifestyle change for this year, which I will talk about tomorrow, I have been  searching for new recipes so that I can cook more “homemade” meals as opposed to pre-prepared ones and while channel-surfing I discovered a great new talk-show aptly called “The Chew”. They of course have a website and on it they publish all their recipes on thechew.com.  I have found two so far today and I will be watching the show tomorrow because they make meals on the show for more ideas.  Take a look at it and see if you find your next great meal.  The recipes are simple to follow and on the website they list all the ingredients and step-by-step instructions on how to prepare and make their delicious recipes so I will let you know how well my two new recipes go.

Let’s talk over tea tomorrow and I’ll share with you a encounter with God I had at two-thirty this morning that reaffirmed my resolutions by the book “Resolutions for Women” and how I won’t realize my dreams if I sit on the couch and hide.  Have a great evening.

Leave a Reply

