Thursday, January 26, 2012

Let’s talk over tea about Jane Austen…I am reading the book “Sense and Sensibility” by Jane Austen right now because over dinner with my cousins and family my aunt challenged me to read Jane Austen.  We were discussing my cousin Allison, my daughter’s and my love of reading and the first chapter books we ever read and my cousin Allison read Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice” when she was young.  My aunt asked me if I had ever read Jane Austen and I said no but I seen the movie “Sense and Sensibility.”  The outcome of this conversation was my promise to my aunt that I would not only read “Sense and Sensibility,” but also “Pride and Prejudice.”

I am enjoying “Sense and Sensibility,” but I will be honest and say that reading Jane Austen is no walk in the park, you actually have to use brain power.  The upside of reading Jane Austen is that it is full of emotion, romance and laughter…it really is brilliant and highly enjoyable, you really feel like you’ve accomplished something when you’re done.

I have the winter blues which, living in the Greater Vancouver area is a given if you have a penchant for the blues.  Today, however, was beautiful, sunny but cold which to me is a perfect winter day.  I took my son to a walk-in clinic because he’s had a cough for a week-and-a-half and found out that he has bronchitis, which put a bit of a damper on the day but we will survive.

I was a teeny bit disappointed in “The Chew” today because it was their meat lovers episode and I am not a meat lover.  Red meat is not my deal except in a meatball, meat sauce or taco but not every episode is going to move me, so I will keep watching for recipes that I can add to my growing collection and catch up on the last few days episodes.

As my ultimate goal is to have a talk show, I try to watch as many talk shows that I can everyday.  Today I caught “The View,” “The Chew,” and “The Talk.”  Demi Moore was spoken on, well let’s keep The Chew out of this conversation, the two talk shows and the dark place that she is in right now.  My heart goes out to her because she married a man who she felt she could trust and love and he let her down.  The Talk spoke about the latest deal with the Kardashians and how Bruce Jenner doesn’t feel that his two youngest daughters should go to college because their careers are already set for them.  Hollywood careers can be fleeting and most people will change their careers at least twice in their lifetime’s, so college is most definitely a must.  If he wants to a supportive but also responsible parent he should encourage them to go to college for at least one degree.  So many young people want to go to college but the monies not there, the Kardashians have no money issues but they don’t want to take this opportunity and run with it.  Hopefully the girls will make their own decisions in regards to their future and go to college anyway.

Goodnight and I look forward to talking with you tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

