Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Let’s chat over tea about…High Tea.  My most recent sampling of High Tea was at the Fairmont Hotel Vancouver which in and of itself is just plain lovely and I have always wanted to stay there.  It is reminiscent of a time when ladies wore hats and full length dresses and men still held the door for you, it is elegant and luxurious and lavish.  The tea room reminds me of what my great-grandmother’s parlour would look like when she was a girl growing up in England.  The music they played was unique to a tea room, not stuffy but from the 30’s to 50’s, music my parents and grandparents played that I grew up hearing, lots of fun.

The tables are set for parties of two to four with beautiful wing backed chairs in deep red and brown and against the walls they have beautiful deep couches, white linen table clothes with English china cups and saucers and sterling silver utensils and silver platter holds a silver sugar bowl with raw sugar and creamer with milk, and jams; a host or hostess brings a menu for you to choose your sandwiches, desserts and your tea.  For my tea I chose their mango black tea supplied by the Metropolitan Tea Company which smelled divine and soothing, absolute perfection with a heady aroma.

I had a wonderful gentleman serve my sandwiches which were placed on the bottom of a three tiered platter; ham and brie croissant, cucumber and watercress, salmon roll and a mango curry chicken which I could not eat because of an allergy so I asked my server if I could substitute the next time and he said that I could substitute even a sandwich off the kid’s menu:  the most delicious, melt in your mouth raisin scones with Devon cream and strawberry preserves graced the second tier, they were warm and soft but not crumbly:  finally on the top tier were my desserts; lemon lime meringue tartlet that was not too sweet and not too tart but absolutely perfect; vanilla eclair with puff pastry that was flaky and soft, the cream filling was to die for again perfect finished off with a vanilla icing that was a little on the sweet side for me but really brought the experience together:  last but not least a raspberry chocolate cupcake which in a word – dreamy; raspberry buttercream icing that is made from scratch every day that just melts in your mouth, the cake was soft, like a cloud and just the right amount of sweet made from cocoa that they grind daily.

If you are in the city and have an inkly for high tea please go visit the Hotel Vancouver for High Tea but make sure you call ahead for a reservation, especially on the weekends, you won’t be sorry.  Good night.

Leave a Reply

