Thursday, August 9, 2012

Let’s chat over tea about…movies that make you cry.  I was grocery shopping today and the store had a great deal on some older movies and one of them is one of my all time favourites as far as “chick flicks” go…”The Holiday” starring Jude Law, Cameron Diaz, Kate Winslet, and Jack Black.  It’s a great story about two women who trade houses for two weeks: one lives in England and the other lives in Los Angeles; one is running away from a man whom she’s deeply in love with but he doesn’t love her back and the other is running away from her life after breaking up with her boyfriend and oddly enough isn’t able to cry because of a childhood trauma; the miraculous part of the movie is that both women find love and live almost happily ever after as the men they love are in the opposite country.  You have probably seen it but if you haven’t – rent it – if you want a good cry, laugh, or just feel good.  I was already emotional so when everything fell into place for these two women, I just had a good cry, but it really is a wonderful movie based on relationships and loving the wrong person and how if you open yourself up to new experiences wonderful surprises can happen.  That really struck me hard as I’ve been thinking about lost loves, broken marriages, healing relationships and opening yourself up to what God wants for you and finding it in the unexpected places.  I have a wonderful husband who God brought into my life in an unexpected way and place and we have been married for almost seventeen years and although it isn’t always that easy for some people to meet the love of their life, if you have faith it will come to you.

Let’s chat over tea about…exercise and overcoming obstacles to reach your goals.  I started and exercise routine, again, that I have tried to stick to and  it has been hit and miss until this week and so far I have exercised yesterday and today.  I know that doesn’t sound like much, two days big deal, but for me it is a big deal because I had to overcome the complacency to stay where I am and get off the couch to reach my goals.  Yesterday I was sitting on the couch playing games on facebook, knowing that I had gotten up early to exercise and an hour and a half later I still hadn’t done it, so I stood up, turned off my laptop, and turned off the movie I was watching and turned on Biggest Loser Challenge for the Wii and got it done.  I felt so good afterwards even though I was in a significant amount of  pain and I felt like I was back on my routine.  This morning the same thing happened, I woke up early to exercise and an hour or so later I was watching a movie, playing on facebook and not exercising.  So again, I stood up, turned off my laptop, and turned off my movie to turn on the Biggest Loser Challenge for the Wii and did a brutal workout.  I felt such a huge sense of accomplishment that I was overcome with emotion and I started crying because I knew that I was not only on the way to being healthy, but more so I was living out the freedom over my fears and trauma from my childhood that I had discovered a few months ago.  My spirit just welled up at the joy of being free and standing up to my fears and resulted in a sob fest and it felt so good that I fought back the complacency and took joy in sweat and pain.

Let’s talk over tea tomorrow about…

Leave a Reply

