Monday, August 20, 2012

Let’s chat over tea about…road trip pt. 2…it turns out my unscheduled rest stop outside of Manning Park, which lasted only about twenty minutes, was serious because there was a police SUV and a rescue truck on the side of the road that I observed as I was driving past, resuming my travels.  After my last pit stop in Princeton, I arrived in Penticton about 2pm, making my journey a seven hour trip.  The first thing I did was find somewhere on the main strip where I could pull over to call Stacey, which was the WalMart and thankfully it wasn’t difficult to get in and out of.  I called Stacey and she told me that she, Murray and Jeremy were at a burger place called Burger 55, then she gave me directions to get there, which only took me about twenty minutes after getting lost once…lol.   I miraculously found a parking space about fifty feet from the “restaurant” and I put restaurant in parentheses because in actuality it is nothing more than a shack:  you walk in and there is a bar across the back with five stools; standing room for maybe ten people; a counter where you pick up a clipboard to place your order; you choose your bun – white, 55 bun (cheese, herb and onion), whole wheat tortilla, gluten free, put it in a salad or cracked wheat; you choose your meat – burger of the month, angus beef, pork, portobella mushroom, turkey, or wild BC salmon; you choose your cheese – aged cheddar, swiss, jalapeno havarti, mozarella, crumbled feta, Rosenberg bleu, Kraft single or fresh parmesan; you choose your toppings – shaved lettuce, bermuda onions, tomato, baby spinach, sprouts, cilantro, dill pickle, roasted garlic, banana peppers, roasted red peppers, beet strings, fresh horseradish, pico de gallo, roast corn, olive medley, sundried tomato; premium toppings – Canadian back bacon, smoked bacon strips, pancetta, Montreal smoked meat, sauted mushrooms, drunk caramelized onions, fried egg, grilled peaches; sauces – ketchup, deli mustard, dijon mustard, mayo, 55 barbeque, 55 buddha sauce, 55 vinaigrette, 55 dill pickle relish; premium sauces – 55 signature spread, 55 molé sauce, 55 roasted garlic sour cream, smashed avocado, balsamic reduction, 55 hot and spicy spread, 55 wasabi cream, 55 curry sauce, tzatziki, peanut butter; and sides which include various forms of fries, etc.  Best burger I’ve ever had and no I did not go adventurous, but it was my first time and I look forward to taking my family there next summer and I will try a different version.  Also, the prices are reasonable probably because their overhead is I would suspect next to nothing and the addage “don’t judge a book by it’s cover” is true here; you can not always assume that just because a restaurant looks like a dive, means that the food is bad…

Leave a Reply

