Mish Mash Monday

Good afternoon, let’s chat over tea about…I’m sorry for the lame title but I haven’t been able to come up with one for Mondays…It’s Christmas Eve and I have a Christmas tradition that I share with my sister that started with childhood friends…watching “The Sound of Music” before Christmas Eve because on Christmas Eve we watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” together. When my sister, Becky, and I were children we would watch both movies with our friends at their house with popcorn, pop, pillows, and blankets and as we got older and had lost touch with our friends, we would still watch these Christmas favourites together. On the eve of Christmas Eve I received a text from Becky letting me know that she was watching the “Sound of Music” with my three-year-old nephew, having remembered that my husband had bought me the movie on blue ray the previous Christmas, I put it on to watch with my husband and daughter, who is almost eleven. About the time when Maria has gone to live with the “Von Trapps” to be the children’s governess, my husband pointed to our exercise bicycle. I looked over to see with much joy and surprise that our son, who is fourteen, had joined us to watch the movie, sitting on the bike. Becky and I were keeping the tradition and memories alive watching the “Sound of Music” together but with our own families even though we were in separate households and realizing that some movies can span generations.

So on this Christmas day, pick your favourite childhood Christmas movie, sit on the couch with some popcorn and start your own family tradition with your siblings and their families, even if you’re hundreds of miles apart.

Merry Christmas

Leave a Reply

