Thankful Thursday

Good afternoon, let’s chat over tea about…this post is my from my friend Michele who be will be a regular contributor to chat over tea and will be filling my Thursday spot, I hope you enjoy what she has to say and will be blessed.

Written by Michele Henter:

I’ve been reading Ann Voskamp’s 1000 Gifts. It was recommended to me by a friend from church who thought that I would enjoy reading it.  I began reading it a while ago & I have been challenged and enlightened on something that has become so familiar and by extension rote. That something is the sacramental rite of the “Lord’s Supper” (as I grew up knowing it as) or the “Eucharist”.

Jesus, Himself, gave thanks before breaking the bread and giving it to His disciples. That phrase, to me always translated in head, as “Jesus prayed over the meal and passed it out”.  Though that may be a part of it, it translates into something so much more.  I’m not a theologian, but I’ll give my best translation from what I understood from Ms Voskamp.

“He gave thanks” in the original text reads “eucharisteo”.  The root of that word is “charis” which means grace. So, so far the saying of “grace” over a meal works right?  But the Greek word for “joy” is the word “chara” which also shares the same derivative.  Thanksgiving, grace, joy – a 3 stranded cord that embodies, perhaps, the true meaning of the Eucharist.

“Facing the abadonment of God Himself, Jesus offers thankgiving for even that which will break Him and crush Him and woulnd Him and yield a bounty of joy (chara).” (1) 

Think on that. In the face of everything that He was to endure, He gave thanks. He walked in grace. He saw the joy on the other side. Would we do the same? Are we, even now, trying to walk that out? to emulate it?

In the hard places it is so hard to practice being thankful, hard to extend grace, and even harder to find joy. Yet, if we but try, if we but practice them, even in small ways, God can and will show up mightily to show you the fullest extent of the salvation, the “sozo”, that was offered so freely.

The simple act of giving thanks, for the big and the small, I believe opens the door to healing, to light, and to seeing the world with different eyes. There is a God in heaven who, will deliberately drop good things across your path just to see you smile. To brighten your day. Our job then, is to say “Thank you”. This simple act of appreciation then becomes a simple act of worship that is complete in & of itself. Nothing else is needed.

My friends, I challenge you to look for the lovely, the simple, the things that make you smile, gasp, or simply stare (in a good way). Make a list of them. Taste & see that He is good.

We’ll return next week & share with each other.

 (1)  Ann Voskamp; One thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully right Where You Are; (Zondervan Publishing) pg 35

 

Leave a Reply

