My Face is My Canvas: Part 1

20150627_06250820150627_062537

Hey everybody, let’s chat over tea about…how I have always thought of myself as being challenged in the visual arts, I mean I can’t even draw a stick man…anyway, Jonathan and I were talking the other day and somehow we got on to the conversation of makeup…I know, why am I discussing makeup with my son but as we’re talking or I’m talking and he’s listening; I realized that my face is my canvas. I express myself, other than writing, by putting on makeup and that I am not challenged in the visual arts. I’ve always known, deep down that I should be a writer and now a photographer too but to recognize that putting on makeup can be artistic, a way of expressing oneself, made me so excited and joyful.

 I then started thinking when did my love of makeup start and how? I remember being about four years old and my mom and dad would be going out for the evening; I would go to the bathroom to see what my mom was up to; there she would be, putting on her makeup and I would stand there and watch her every move; powder, eyeshadow, blush, lipstick and she didn’t have the tools that we have now. I remember thinking how one day I would put on makeup too, how I would dress my face and I never thought of it as art but our faces are a canvass, we are and can be artists and it is a beautiful thing when we are done. Makeup makes us feel pretty, ready to face the day, we feel finished, we feel polished, ready to conquer the world, we feel empowered but makeup doesn’t make us it only enhances the beauty that God gave us. 

One day I decided that I was going to try to put on my face like my mom did, so I pulled out all her makeup and went to town; digging into her foundation, eyeshadow, blush and smushing her lipstick…needless to say she was not happy with me. My mom left just before I turned twelve and all my friends started wearing makeup when we were thirteen which reignited my love of my makeup; unfortunately I didn’t have anyone to teach me how to apply it,  what colours would like good on me, which products to use and what skin care I should use. So, I ventured into the world of makeup completely unprepared and made a disaster out it all; I ended up with an acne infection, I was wearing all the wrong colours (like blue eyeshadow and pink lipstick, I didn’t know anything about what skin care would be best for my face (I was using clearisil at the time and it was total garbage and probably made matters worse).

When I was almost sixteen I went to live with my grandparents and the first thing my Grammy did was take me to the doctor. He took one look at my face and said I was a disaster and that I had an acne infection. He prescribed these giant pills that made my pee turn neon yellow, told me to wash my face with warm water only and prescribed a gel product for spot treatment. Within six months my skin had cleared and I was on the road to proper skin care and the right products for my face in the right colours. It was only trial and error that helped me discover what products were right for me.

This post is already too long so I’m going to stop here and continue tomorrow so have a fabulous day and we’ll chat tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

